We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Eden District Councillors

Eden district ward mapThe Liberal Democrats are in an alliance with the Independents, Greens and Labour and run the council since the elections of May 2019. The seat breakdown is Liberal Democrats 12, Independents 9, Green 2 and Labour 2 with the opposition Conservative party having 13 seats.

The Liberal Democrat councillors with their wards are

  • Appleby Bongate - Andy Connell
  • Askham - Laura Harker
  • Brough - Graham Simpkins
  • Dacre - Judith Derbyshire
  • Penrith East - Mike Eyles
  • Penrith North - Deb Holden and Mark Rudhall
  • Penrith Pategill - Peter Baker
  • Penrith West - Virginia Taylor, Leader of the Council and Roger Burgin
  • Shap - Neil McCall
  • Ullswater - Darrell Smith

For contact details please see the Councillors page in www.eden.gov.uk

Eden District - Liberal Democrat policies

"Sustainability runs like a golden thread through all decisions made by the Council. Sustainability in the four pillars of economic, environmental, societal and cultural. A key concern is the Health and Wellbeing of all in the area.

This means plans to encourage a vibrant economy with business growth and promoting tourism in addition to the vital agricultural and associated businesses in order to provide a sustainable economic base.

Plans to promote sustainable energy schemes to give affordable warmth and a housing strategy to give affordable homes.

Following environmental policies that accept there is a Climate Emergency and we need to reduce our carbon footprint and reduce pollution of one of our main assets - the countryside.

Promoting a healthy lifestyle for all."

  • The new Shap Councillor Neil McCall [right] with Leader of the Council Virginia Taylor [left] and Penrith and the Border PPC Matt Severn [centre]
    Article: Nov 15, 2019
    By Lorna Baker

    Last night Thursday 14th November Neil McCall, The Liberal Democrat candidate in the Shap by-election, recorded a 48.5% share of the vote in a decisive win. The previous Conservative councillor stood down for personal reasons only months after the May all-out District elections but Neil was still keen to serve the community so moved into election mode again. It is not easy campaigning in the dark winter months but a team of LibDems trudged around Shap in the daylight hours and were rewarded with some sparkling sunshine showing off the great views to the fells enjoyed in this area.

  • Matt Severn with councillors
    Article: Nov 10, 2019

    Some of our Eden District and Cumbria County Councillors getting to know our recently selected PPC, Matt Severn.

  • Beacon March
    Article: Oct 10, 2019

    In Autumn 2018 the Liberal Democrats were the driving force behind opposing the Penrith Masterplan proposed by the then Conservative Executive of Eden District Council. Construction on the wild and unspoilt Beacon area immediately above the town was particularly strongly opposed. Scrutiny by the Liberal Democrat councillors delayed the implementation of the plan to beyond the May 2019 District Elections at which the Liberal Democrats in Alliance with Independents, Greens and Labour took control of the council and were able to cancel the MasterPlan.