Top of page.

Penrith and the Border Liberal Democrats

We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off

Eden District Councillors

Eden district ward mapThe Liberal Democrats are in an alliance with the Independents, Greens and Labour and run the council since the elections of May 2019. The seat breakdown is Liberal Democrats 12, Independents 9, Green 2 and Labour 2 with the opposition Conservative party having 13 seats.

The Liberal Democrat councillors with their wards are

  • Appleby Bongate - Andy Connell
  • Askham - Laura Harker
  • Brough - Graham Simpkins
  • Dacre - Judith Derbyshire
  • Penrith East - Mike Eyles
  • Penrith North - Deb Holden and Mark Rudhall
  • Penrith Pategill - Peter Baker
  • Penrith West - Virginia Taylor, Leader of the Council and Roger Burgin
  • Shap - Neil McCall
  • Ullswater - Darrell Smith

For contact details please see the Councillors page in

Eden District - Liberal Democrat policies

"Sustainability runs like a golden thread through all decisions made by the Council. Sustainability in the four pillars of economic, environmental, societal and cultural. A key concern is the Health and Wellbeing of all in the area.

This means plans to encourage a vibrant economy with business growth and promoting tourism in addition to the vital agricultural and associated businesses in order to provide a sustainable economic base.

Plans to promote sustainable energy schemes to give affordable warmth and a housing strategy to give affordable homes.

Following environmental policies that accept there is a Climate Emergency and we need to reduce our carbon footprint and reduce pollution of one of our main assets - the countryside.

Promoting a healthy lifestyle for all."